Patience: Publication week update

It’s just over a week since Patience went on sale, and it seems like a good time to take stock. It’s been an absolute whirlwind, feeling utterly unreal at times. I suppose that’s probably the inevitable result of achieving a lifelong dream – it’s been unobtainable for so long, your brain can’t quite compute it when it comes true.

Booksellers’ Association Book of the Month

The really huge news is that Patience is the Booksellers’ Association Indie Book of the Month for August. This is a very big deal. It means that a promotion is running in independent bookshops all over the country featuring my book. Last month’s Book of the Month title was Sarah Winman’s Still Life – the one before was Sunjeev Sahota’s China Room (which is up for a Booker!) To be in such company is simply incredible.

BBC Feature

On the day before publication, August 4th , a feature I’d written for the BBC News website about my sister and the inspiration for the book was published, and that kicked off an amazing couple of days of sales. At one point, the hardback of Patience was ranked at 400 of ALL BOOKS on Amazon – even cookery books, non-fiction, kids’ books, etc. Nuts.

Wrecking Ball event

At the same time, I was driving up to Hull to take part in my first ever author reading and Q&A at the lovely Wrecking Ball Music and Books. They were awesome, it was lots of fun, and we sold lots of copies.

My pre-launch event in Hull
Q&A and reading

I drove back down to Surrey on launch day, checking reviews and rankings every time I stopped, amazed at the wonderful things people were saying. By the evening of launch day I was absolutely exhausted after hundreds of miles on the road and not sleeping well for several weeks (adrenaline surge!) so I avoided the traditional booze and had an early night.

As luck would have it (!) it was my daughter’s seventh birthday on the following day, and that was helpful in many ways, as it stopped me obsessively checking Amazon, and reminded me about the things that really mattered. She had a lovely day, and a great party. My parents also came to help, which was SO wonderful.

Launch party

Surrey Sugar Craft made me an amazing cake of my book

It also meant we were all assembled for my launch party on Saturday, which we held at Waterstones Walton-on-Thames. There were many times throughout the pandemic when I thought I’d never manage an in-person launch, so I was amazed and delighted that it went ahead without a hitch. Friends and family came from all over to see me, my wonderful agent Hannah Weatherill gave a lovely speech, the cake was divine (it felt wrong to eat it!) and I was the store’s bestseller that day (even beating David Walliams!)  I also spotted Patience on the shelf between Elif Safak and Kazuo Ishiguro. Author goals…

New print run

Oh, and then the hardback sold out on Amazon! My publishers had to do a new print run, just two days after it went on sale. Amazing. And extraordinary. I hope it means good things for the future.

More interviews

I’ve recorded a couple of further interviews this week, with Talk Radio Europe and BBC Surrey, and I also took part in a Facebook live event for Hillingdon libraries, which was a lot of fun.

It’s really common to feel a little depressed after publication week. It’s natural to feel low after such a high, particularly when your book starts to slip down the rankings and your reviews slow down to a trickle. However, I’ve got plenty to distract myself with – I’m editing book 2 (out next Summer) and writing book 3, and we’re going on our first family camping trip next week. Help…!

If you’d like to buy a copy of Patience, I’d be delighted. Here are the links to lots of different bookshops: https://linktr.ee/victoria.scott

One thought on “Patience: Publication week update”

  1. Just received my copy of Patience I ordered from Amazon Friday and finished it in 2 days. LOVED IT. My neice Evelyn has Rett and this story really touched my heart. You have woven together a beautiful story sharing from your heart the many feeling that so many families experience. I loved the details sharing Patience’s thoughts all through the novel. Beautifully written ! HIGHLY RECOMMEND .

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.